AfricaBreaking NewsBusinessHuman Interest Stories

Access Bank Appoints New Chairman

Access Holdings Plc has announced the appointment of Aigboje Aig-Imoukhuede as its non-executive chairman, marking a significant transition following the tragic demise of its Group Chief Executive Officer, Dr. Herbert Wigwe, and his family in a helicopter crash in the United States.

Aig-Imoukhuede, a seasoned leader in the banking and finance sector and former Group Managing Director/CEO of Access Bank, will step into this pivotal role, succeeding Mr. Abubakar Jimoh. Jimoh will continue his service on the board as an independent non-executive director.

The announcement, made in a public statement titled “Access Holdings Plc Announces the Return of Mr. Aigboje Aig-Imoukhuede,” underscores the board’s confidence in Aig-Imoukhuede’s ability to steer the company through challenging times and capitalize on emerging opportunities.

Reflecting on the appointment, Abubakar Jimoh expressed his enthusiasm, highlighting Aig-Imoukhuede’s proven track record and leadership qualities. 

Aig-Imoukhuede himself expressed his eagerness to serve the Access Group ecosystem once again, emphasizing his commitment to realizing the shared vision set forth by his predecessor, Dr. Herbert Wigwe.

Access Bank, in a statement by Company Secretary Mr. Sunday Ekwochi, hailed Aig-Imoukhuede as a visionary and accomplished leader with a wealth of expertise. The decision to invite him to lead the company was made unanimously by the Holdco board, following extensive consultations with key stakeholders.

Aig-Imoukhuede’s illustrious career in the banking sector, including his tenure as Group CEO of Access Bank from 2002 to 2013, has been characterized by remarkable growth and strategic leadership. Under his guidance, 

Access Bank transformed into one of Nigeria’s top five banks, expanded its presence across Africa and the United Kingdom, and witnessed significant increases in its customer base and asset portfolio.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *