AfricaBreaking News

SADC Marks 44 Years of Regional Integration and Development Since Lusaka Declaration

Today, on the 1st of April, the Southern African Development Community (SADC) commemorates 44 years since the historic signing of the Lusaka Declaration, a momentous event that laid the groundwork for regional integration and cooperation in Southern Africa.

Signed in 1980, the Lusaka Declaration established the Southern African Development Coordinating Conference (SADCC), which later evolved into the Southern African Development Community (SADC) in 1992. This transformation marked a significant milestone in the region’s journey towards economic development, peace, and security.

Over the past four decades, SADC Member States, including Angola, Botswana, the Union of Comoros, the Democratic Republic of Congo, Eswatini, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, South Africa, the United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia, and Zimbabwe, have demonstrated unwavering commitment to deeper economic integration and cooperation.

Through the adoption of various protocols, policies, and strategies, SADC has established a robust legal and institutional framework aimed at fostering regional cooperation and development.

This commitment is evident in SADC’s vision for 2050, which envisions a peaceful, inclusive, competitive, and industrialized region where all citizens enjoy sustainable economic well-being, justice, and freedom.

As the organization looks ahead to its future, it remains dedicated to realizing its vision and building a common future for its 16 member states. With a focus on fostering collaboration and addressing regional challenges, SADC continues to strive towards creating a better tomorrow for the people of Southern Africa.

Source: SADC

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *