AfricaInternational News

BRICS: South Africa Announces Five New Confirmations, Argentina Declines Invitation 

South Africa’s Foreign Minister Naledi Pandor confirmed that Egypt, Ethiopia, Iran, Saudi Arabia, and the United Arab Emirates have officially accepted invitations to join the BRICS bloc. 

These nations were extended invitations during a summit held in Johannesburg last year, joining the existing BRICS members—Brazil, Russia, China, India, and South Africa.

Reuters reported that Argentina was also among the countries invited, but President Javier Milei, who recently assumed office, has decided to decline the invitation, reversing the membership bid initiated by his predecessor.

Pandor stated during a news conference, “With respect to the BRICS confirmations, five out of the six have confirmed. That is Saudi Arabia, UAE, Ethiopia, Iran … and Egypt. 

Argentina has written to indicate that they will not act on this successful application by the previous administration to become full members of BRICS, and we accept their decision.”

The expansion of BRICS membership has garnered significant attention, with approximately 30 countries expressing interest in establishing ties with the bloc. 

Nigeria, Africa’s largest economy and most populous country, has announced its intention to seek BRICS membership within the next two years, as stated by Minister of Foreign Affairs Yusuf Tuggar in November.

The BRICS group, comprising nations with substantial economic and geopolitical influence, aims to challenge the existing global economic order and increase its collective sway in international affairs. 

Together, the BRICS countries represent 42% of the world’s population, 30% of the global landmass, and 24% of the global economic output.

Source: Copperbelt Katanga Mining

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *