Breaking NewsPolitics

MLGRD Announces Conclusion of Tenure for Deputy Mayors, Council Chairpersons, and WDCs; Elections Set to Ensue

The Ministry of Local Government and Rural Development (MLGRD) has officially communicated that, in accordance with the Local Government Act Number 2 of 2019 of the Laws of Zambia, the tenure of office for Deputy Mayors, Deputy Council Chairpersons, and Ward Development Committees (WDCs) will conclude on 15th February 2024.

In a statement released by Mr. Chila Namaiko, Public Relations Officer for the Ministry of Local Government and Rural Development, the announcement emphasized the adherence to the stipulations outlined in the aforementioned legislation. 

The statement highlighted the critical provisions, with specific reference to Section 11(1) of the Local Government Act, indicating that Deputy Mayors and Deputy Council Chairpersons shall hold office for a term of two and a half years, with the possibility of re-election for one additional term of the same duration.

Similarly, Section 2(a) of the Fourth Schedule of the Local Government Act specifies that members of the Ward Development Committee (WDC) are appointed for a term of two and a half years, with the opportunity for re-appointment for one more term of the same duration. 

The terms and conditions are subject to specifications outlined in the instrument of appointment.

In response to this development, Mr. Maambo Haamaundu, the MLGRD Permanent Secretary (Administration), has directed all Local Authorities across the country to initiate necessary preparations for the upcoming elections. 

The Permanent Secretary underscored the importance of adhering to stipulated guidelines and legal requirements in conducting the elections.

Furthermore, Mr. Haamaundu urged Local Authorities to keep the public well-informed about the electoral process, including key dates and eligibility criteria. 

This, he believes, will contribute to fostering civic engagement and ensure a smooth and timely transition in leadership.

The Permanent Secretary concluded by setting a deadline for the conclusion of the electoral processes and corresponding appointments, directing Local Authorities to finalize these activities by 31st March 2024.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *